Home Page
Museum Buildings
Grange Building
Union Meetinghouse
Benjamin Rowe House
Tours, Meetings, Programs
In Quest of History
Gilford Steamer Articles
Gift Shop
TAHS Involvement
About Us

Below is some brief background information related to the
Benjamin Rowe Farm House. For a closer view of the theme display areas
inside the museum building, click on the tabs above.

About 1838, Gilford farmer Benjamin Rowe decided to try his hand at making bricks. In turn, he built this Greek Revival Cape for his family.

Following occupancy by members of the Rowe Family for almost a century, ownership of the farm, which then occupied land on both sides of what is now called Belknap Mountain Road, passed onto Ernest Sawyer who then operated a popular dairy there until 1947. In turn, the dairy farm was owned and operated by Alvah Wilson and his wife Ruth Sawyer Wilson. In 1969 the town of Gilford became owner of the farm. Gilford's three schools were built on land that once was part of this farm.

A unique floor plan and surviving details, including vintage brick fireplaces as well as antique paneling and hardware, have entitled the Benjamin Rowe House to be included on the NH State Register of Historic Places.

Today, owned by the Town of Gilford on land owned by Gilford's School District, the Rowe House serves as one of gilford Village's museum buildings, through a multi-year lease to Thompson-Ames Historical Society. The Rowe House is appropriately furnished with items from the vintage home of Arthur A. Tilton and his family. The main floor shows rooms typical of an 1800s and early 1900s farmhouse.

The second floor affords views of construction of this c. 1838 farmhouse and, thanks to Arthur A. Tilton family furnishings, rooms of 1900s vintage.